Advanced Techniques and Processes 2a: Night Photography – Exposure Test Two and Update

ADVANCED TECHNIQUES & PROCESSES 2A

NIGHT PHOTOGRAPHY MINI PROJECT – PART TWO INCLUDING TEST SHOTS – FIREWORKS

Introduction:

In these test shots I have included examples of life of firework displays celebrating a festival of light focussing on the fireworks as being a part of a socially engaging activity. Using the Gestalt principles of emergence and the laws of segregation.

As Brassai believed that Paris took on a different atmosphere that pervaded the Parisian night with an ‘’unseen presence and authentic menace, (which he believed revealed the mind- set of the Parisian race), I will attempt to reveal in my photography how Bradfords celebratory events bring people together in a positive way.

Production/Method of Presentation:

The Law of Segregation states that in order for an image to stand out it must be defined from its background. I will be taking some night time photography where this law applies (see Diwali Fireworks Display Event: 4.10.2014 photographs below).

Target Audience:

Celebratory Events Organisers and local press coverage.

A selection of experimental test shots working in a night time setting/celebratory event.

A selection of experimental test shots working in a night time setting/celebratory event.

A selection of experimental test shots working in a night time setting/celebratory event.

A selection of experimental test shots working in a night time setting/celebratory event.

night time - fireworks 3

A selection of experimental test shots working in a night time setting/celebratory event.

A selection of experimental test shots working in a night time setting/celebratory event.

A selection of experimental test shots working in a night time setting/celebratory event.

A selection of experimental test shots working in a night time setting/celebratory event.

night time - fireworks 6 night time - fireworks 7

What were my aims and have I achieved them?

My aims for this project was to inform further my no daylight brief and to improve on the quality of my night time compositions. I believe that I achieved my target of improving on the quality of the photographs as I have captured the light satisfactorily but I will be carrying out further tests re my no daylight brief.

What have I done?

Experimenting with the no daylight brief project, I have taken a selection of experimental test shots working in a night time setting at a local event celebrating Diwali 2014.

What have I got from it?

I obtained an interesting aesthetic by getting as close to the photographs as possible and have achieved my aims as I set out to deliver the notion that fireworks are capable of lighting up the sky with colour and contrast. I worked hard to improve upon my technical ability from my last no daylight brief experimentation. I wanted to achieve a successful combination of colour and contrast working from a low key perspective.

A selection of experimental test shots working in a night time setting/celebratory event.

A selection of experimental test shots working in a night time setting/celebratory event.

 

 

 

 

night time - fireworks 9 night time - fireworks 10 night time - fireworks 11 night time - fireworks 12

What is next?

Although my project proposal focusses on night time photography indoors, I will be revisiting this project idea – i.e. shooting outdoors – this Christmas to achieve compositions I am pleased with capturing the Christmas Lights in the surrounding area.

Leave a Reply

