Advanced Studio Practice 2A – Sunrise and Sunsets – Series of Test Shots 3

sunset 2Relates to Outcomes: 1 and 3 (as in research folder)

Introduction:

Following on from testing out sunset shots in both a technical and conceptual way. I took another set of photographs of sunsets just outside my home in order to make sure that I know how to set my camera and gain confidence with improving on my photography prior to going out on a location shoot.

I am very pleased with the results.

sunset 3

sunset 6

sunset 4

sunset 5

sunset 1Method and Presentation:

The conceptual side of my photography is evolving clearly, I am establishing an idea of what it is like to have a sunset image over an urban area compared to a rural, trying out several conceptual ideas regarding the framing of my sunsets from silhouette to pinching the sun as if it is put between the fingers. Overall, I am aiming for a classic look but I have discovered through research and taking these kind of shots that I rather like the urban sunset photography as I feel it has an edge to it that steers away from the traditional and looks at something different.

Evaluation:

What were my aims and have I achieved them?

I achieved my aims as the intention was to inform the rest of my project. I was further able to identify that sunsets in the urban environment would make another separate study for the future.

What have I done?

I have taken a series of test shots to improve on my technical ability experimenting in the context of a no daylight brief but utilising conceptual knowledge to understand the impact of the backdrop of the urban environment against a vivid sunset.

What have I got from it?

A better understanding of how to frame my sunsets taking into account the urban environment (running parallel lines across the composition to add meaning).

What is next?

I will continue to examine the photographers I have selected (see 10 photographers in your genre post) and I will further investigate the urban sunsets against the rural to enable my development as a landscape photographer (see research folder for more details).

Target Audience:

As before.

Leave a Reply

