Studio Practice 2B – Worksheet 3 – Editorial Facts – Contemporary Facts about ‘Religious’ Photography

Aims and Objective:

The aim and objective was to generate ten editorial facts based on subject matter. Editorial facts or url’s are non specific to my project. My url’s are the religious institutions and organisations I will be representing which each have a folder full of research specific to each religious organisation the information can be found in my Studio Practice 2B folder for Bradford Cathedral, Wakefield Cathedral, The Chantry Chapel at Wakefield and others as listed previously. Academic research is indicative and included in my previous uploads. Additionally, the individual cathedral studies demonstrate that, as my research informs my practice url’s are not useful but a bibliography list has been included in my practice (see previous uploads), as this is useful as it gives me the appropriate precise historical, academic, archaeological and architectural information. However as a point of research from the perspective of gaining websites that do not involve the churches I am studying separately, but cover the remit of googling the phrase ”contemporary facts about religious photography” please refer to worksheet 3 in my research folder, it covers the relevant ”religious” modern topics of paganism, illustration (which covers both photography and painting), an article which discusses the religion in the age of digital reproduction (also see my previous references to Pedro Meyer), the Celtic Reconstructivism approach and what it means in today’s terms, black star risings feature on presenting religion through photography and the individual contemporary approach by Bradford Cathedral alone – which focuses on art, creating a vision of the future, faith and conservation including preservation through understanding history, its missionary and humanitarian approaches and its approaches to prayer. Additionally contemporary issues such as engaging with the work of the church from a global perspective and finally the symbolic contextualised conceptualised through the church. (see Bradford Cathedral pamplets attached to the research folder).

Social media feeds do not inform my practice nor would they be able to verify or authenticate my sources, therefore I would not  use them.

Research into how photographers price their work is included in my research folder which includes an itemised list from a recognised source. However, pack photography would not fit into my plans for publication of archaeological and architectural religiously related findings (with the accompanied series of professional photographs) so I would not necessarily need to know how much to charge for a packshot. However, a packshot pricing list has been included in my folder.

For information regarding how much I would charge to deliver, email and overall costs, again, please refer to my research folder.

For an indication of how much I would charge my clients, whether I was working professionally on pack shots or on any other assignment is of personal professional concern, however, the rates I have available which are based on research from ‘The freelance fees guide,’ and ‘the photography pricing guide’, information of which is in my research folder is given in support of how I would manage my own business.

Additionally, within the research folder there is information regarding the contemporary aspects of the role of religious art professional, paganism and the practice of it in a modern setting, some illustrative works of art that represent in effect new ways of thinking when delivering and engaging with religion generally. There are also two separate features that engage with the ”return of the religious in contemporary art/and digital reproduction”, as well as islamic art facts and interest in islamic art exhibitions.

Bradford Cathedral specifically engages with their audience in a modern contemporary setting through more traditional but equally valid means by delivering a range and focus of art (as represented in the research folder with the ”icon of the holy spirit” and additionally through engaging artists to create altar cloths that have been intricately embroidered and through St Aidan’s Cross and finally through their Artspace projects. Furthermore, I would add that when discussing contemporary issues the focus at the cathedral (and of all other churches in the district/diocese) involve faith, conservation, preservation with a humanitarian aspect so that history can be understood more from a theological and sociological perspective. Therefore its missionary and humanitarian work involves proactively engaging with the arts and with finding the right people to do the work. There is at Bradford and Wakefield Cathedral and at the Chapel on the bridge, a conserted effort to provide space for quiet reflection that engages with all faiths which seeks to connect interest through the visual image and through the narrative a meeting of minds and spiritual association with other organisations.

Work involved connecting the work of the churches with the saints they represent are contextualised through prayer to find ways to exchange and answer to the calling of faith today. This is achieved at Bradford by following a prayer route around the church following the trail of St Peter by walking, if you like, in his footsteps. Again, is theoretical, theological and pragmatic approach is tailored to the needs of children and adults alike where the cathedral plays a vital role in conceptualising, contextualising and contemporarising the history of Christianity as represented by the Church and its different sections through faith.

Conclusion:

The overall aims and objectives for this assignment has been outlined and discussed and where appropriate analysed to a level that is academic and professional. To ‘google the phrase ‘contemporary facts about ‘religious’ photography’ has been undertaken but the fact remains it is not specific enough to assist me with my enquiry as my assignment is not a contemporary one in an academic sense but it could be in a photographic one. However, that does not mean that the church itself does not have a role in the postmodern world, on the contrary if you read above you will find that the churches involved in my study engage wholeheartedly with contemporary issues. My current project undertaken does not currently discuss the sociological effect on the buildings or artifacts but traces the archaeological and architectural effect of the buildings and artifacts of the ancient Churches of Yorkshire through the visual image but it does get involved with contemporary approaches to archaeology and architecture within religious structures. The research that has been undertaken is informing my practice which is what a professional photographer interested in this field of research and photography should do. If I was to raise contemporary issues regarding the church I would discuss the effect of Islam on Christianity or Paganism on Christianity or Biblical photography (see research folder worksheet 3 for more information and engagement in this subject) in relation to readdressing the influence of painting, or the return of the religious in contemporary art, or religion in the age of digital reproduction, these issues have been included, underlined and discussed as suggested however it is not possible to raise all of the above issues due to time limitations and my intended focus.

My overall concern for my project is to highlight the development of the church from the perspectives I have discussed which in itself is a contemporary issue as to lose these sights of wonder from our land would mean that the country would lose its identity from a cultural and historical, architectural and archaeological perspective. These and other issues have been discussed and identified and will be presented when each aspect of my study (i.e. dealing with the churches on an individual basis) has been completed. In order to achieve these aims and make the issues contemporary would take a great deal of research and photography if I was to reflect the whole of West Yorkshire as archeological and architectural religious concern. I have therefore singled out three in depth studies and a list of other areas of interest which I will continue to research as part of my final work for university and beyond.

Leave a comment