ADVANCED TECHNIQUES AND PROCESSES 2B – WORKSHEET 3 – CANON 5D MK 2 AND CAPTUREONE SOFTWARE

Aim:

The overall aim of this exercise was to work on two sweep backgrounds (both large and small) to photograph a range of items. Part of the assignment is to analyse and evaluate the lighting and software by shooting to screen the second part of the assignment is to meter and expose the images using the lighting scenarios provided and the third part is to import the images into the capture one software for potential corrections and downloading.

 

http://forum.phaseone.com/En/viewtopic.php?f=55&t=18151&st=0&sk=t&sd=a

http://www.media-division.com/best-photo-raw-converters/

For more details see my research folder.

I will therefore take a couple of images and research the effectiveness of operating both CaptureOne and Adobe and compare the results.

The sweep backgrounds where possible will be duplicated but I will predominantly be using a lightbox to isolate my products as tests. The results of which will be in my research folder.

Evaluation:

As I am unfamiliar with Canon cameras I chose to do my photographic research with my own Nikon D800 and to practice this with my own studio set up. My research has revealed that CaptureOne Software is flawed and even though it is said that the set up is less flawed. Many practitioners prefer using Lightroom or Adobe as capture focuses mostly on conversion according to Media Division (The Best 3 RAW convertors of 2013) . The advice that is given is that if you already have software then stick with it and upgrade what you already have if necessary. As a landscape photographer who works in RAW this is a foregone conclusion for me, lightroom is too limited in choice, DXO would be preferred if I was an amateur photographer even though it does yield with interesting results. So photoshop has to be my chosen software as it has bridge and as a designer and artist additionally, this has to be my first and only choice. Additionally, the lens database in capture one is much more limited.

In the process of evaluating skin tone in portraits then capture one and lightroom could be useful but it has been reported that capture one underexposure the photo by default and lightroom opens up the shadows more (see feature and comparisons in the research folder). Lightroom and photoshop have the best colours with evidence in my research supporting that capture one leaves a yellow cast and different sketchy colouring on a tower photographed in a feature edit. From an architectural perspectove a wide angle lens can become distored when using capture one with notable program processing producing the scene analysed differfently. In this case the DXO software is the clear winner. Examining the HDR perspective and detailed extraction both gave unfavourable results as the image chosen suffered from low contrast, lens softness (given the shallow DOF) which affected the detail.

If I were to change my software I would probably go for the DXO, it has a great overall standard and is very cost effective, however as I already have photoshop I see little point in changing although the experiment and research were interesting.

Conclusion:

With each generation of RAW processors it does become harder to judge which program has the best features and produces the best results overall for the genre of photography you are interested in. For professional studio portrait photographers capture one pro has the best tethered capture workflow, with a focus mask to get instant feedback on focus and the best overall skin rendition. My own research involving capture one on a series of shots I undertook and altered both in capture one and photoshop using the same principle of adding light into the compositions, there was very little difference with photoshop having the edge (see comparisons in my research folder). This is therefore not a sufficient argument for me to change the software I already have.

 

Leave a Reply

